GermanLook Forums

GermanLook Forums (https://www.germanlook.net/forums/index.php)
-   Suspension (https://www.germanlook.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   1979 vw rack or porsche rack (https://www.germanlook.net/forums/showthread.php?t=8446)

mrjacksonsvws March 11th 2007 21:27

1979 vw rack or porsche rack

hey i have a 1302 and a 1303, and was going to do a rack and pinion conversion on both of them :eek:. I heard of people putting porsche 944 racks in their beetles. l was wondering if there is any advantage in the porsche rack , or should i stick with the vw 1979 rack. maybe one is easier to retro fit than the other, or is one of them is just better than the other one.:confused: :confused: :confused:

Astromic March 17th 2007 19:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by mrjacksonsvws (Post 57772)
l was wondering if there is any advantage in the porsche rack

well, i'm no expert but i think it's obvious that the porsche rack is better because it's a "porsche" rack ;) , and for the fitment, i don't know if it works, but i've seen a lot of people here converting 1303 boxes into golf(rabbit) r/p, and it seems that it runs better, i'm not sure of the fitment either, and what needs to be done to convert, as i didn't do it before(i'm willing to), so if anyone done this or know how, please reply...

Michael

1303R March 18th 2007 14:24

jus cus it's porsche rather than vw dont make it any better!! using a rack that will work PROPERLY is far more important than where it came from! 1302's and 1303's need a special rack to suit there needs, mainly cus of the length of the track control arms, plenty of people have fitted later 1303 racks, '75 on, on to earlier super beetles. including me.do a search on this site.

mrjacksonsvws March 22nd 2007 22:01

thanks

4 Attachment(s)
I was starting to think that no one was going to reply.I got some picks of the project, check out some attachments.this is jays 1972 super.

mrjacksonsvws March 23rd 2007 16:26