GermanLook Forums  

Go Back   GermanLook Forums > Technical Section > Suspension

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 8th 2007, 06:26
DORIGTT's Avatar
DORIGTT DORIGTT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Forest Grove, Oregon
Posts: 688
Machining drums to be used as hubs?

I recall a thread where someone machined down the drums (with 5x130 pattern) to fit inside or on top of a Porsche rotor to be used as a hub. What's the feasibility of this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 8th 2007, 11:33
ricola's Avatar
ricola ricola is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Warwick, UK
Posts: 1,131
Better bet would be to machine down aftermarket Porsche pattern discs, they have the strength in thickness then and you could fit studs.
Rich
__________________
http://www.ricola.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 8th 2007, 12:53
DORIGTT's Avatar
DORIGTT DORIGTT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Forest Grove, Oregon
Posts: 688
When you say Porsche discs, are you referring to VW disc brakes with the Porsche pattern? And are they available for the rear that way?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 9th 2007, 05:22
ricola's Avatar
ricola ricola is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Warwick, UK
Posts: 1,131
Yes, I was talking about Porsche 'bolt pattern' discs for a VW, they are thicker around the mounting area. Porsche made the rear hubs already (they are on the 944 )
__________________
http://www.ricola.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 9th 2007, 07:43
DORIGTT's Avatar
DORIGTT DORIGTT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Forest Grove, Oregon
Posts: 688
Thanks ricola,

One of my goals is to keep possible width increases to a minimum... Ghia you know. My figurations are / were that I would only (possibly) get <10mm increase per side which would be a good thing for those of us who are a little lacking in wheel well space... Ghia you know Anyway, I figured that would be a good way to not widen things too much.

I've got some early 944 aluminum trailing arms with all the necessary components to mount them on my Ghia, as well as the front hub that needs to me modded to work (later style for the front hub), I've just got doubts about the 'relative ease' of making it all work... Ghia you know

DORIGTT
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 9th 2007, 08:28
Steve C's Avatar
Steve C Steve C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,744
Hi

You could use stock 4 stud drums instead of discs and do the same thing, the disc will give a slight track increase of the drum. If you then studded the brake drum to 5x130 that would work.

On my old 1302 I used 5x130 bug discs with the braking surface removed, then bolted the Porsche rotor on the back with a spacer to get the offset correct in the same manner that Porsche rotors fit up.

Steve



__________________
STI powered 1303 in the works.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 9th 2007, 11:11
DORIGTT's Avatar
DORIGTT DORIGTT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Forest Grove, Oregon
Posts: 688
How well did that method work for you?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 10th 2007, 10:22
Steve C's Avatar
Steve C Steve C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,744
Hi

They worked fine, I will be using them on my next car as well.

Steve
__________________
STI powered 1303 in the works.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 10th 2007, 11:01
DORIGTT's Avatar
DORIGTT DORIGTT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Forest Grove, Oregon
Posts: 688
Cool, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 12th 2007, 14:13
GS guy GS guy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 113
Why not just go with the CB chromoly hubs? (from their race strength disc brake kit)

BTDT on machining down some drums. That cast iron is hard material, requires carbide tooling. A lot of work involved, you have to make a good fitting mandrel to hold-em while machining, lots of cutting and machining time, etc. If you were paying someone to do the work you'd likely be much $$ ahead getting the CB hubs.

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 12th 2007, 16:19
DORIGTT's Avatar
DORIGTT DORIGTT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Forest Grove, Oregon
Posts: 688
I just looked at their website per your suggestion and didn't see any front hubs as you mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 12th 2007, 16:31
GS guy GS guy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 113
Oops, didn't seen any specific references to front hubs.
I was referring to the rear CB hubs.

I think the only aftermarket front VW hubs I've seen are Vdub Engineering and Airkewld.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 12th 2007, 19:05
DORIGTT's Avatar
DORIGTT DORIGTT is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Forest Grove, Oregon
Posts: 688
O' Tay I got it now
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 21st 2007, 11:39
Sunroof53's Avatar
Sunroof53 Sunroof53 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lincolnshire
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve C View Post
Hi

You could use stock 4 stud drums instead of discs and do the same thing, the disc will give a slight track increase of the drum. If you then studded the brake drum to 5x130 that would work.

On my old 1302 I used 5x130 bug discs with the braking surface removed, then bolted the Porsche rotor on the back with a spacer to get the offset correct in the same manner that Porsche rotors fit up.

Steve



Steve ,your a genious .I reckon i am going to nick your idea for the back of my bug as the 944 rears are way to widefor my 66, but reckon i can use either the carriers or a beetle drum to keep the stock offset.sorry to crash your thread Dorigtt
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 21st 2007, 18:40
Steve C's Avatar
Steve C Steve C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,744
Hi Skeeter

You could use Type 3 rear drum centres for that, or buy some 5x130 rear drums or another thing I looked at was cutting the back of the steel arm 944 flange down to narrow the track, you would end up with less spline area, I'm not sure how that would go with high horse power.

Steve
__________________
STI powered 1303 in the works.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
© www.GermanLook.net 2002-2017. All Rights Reserved