GermanLook Forums  

Go Back   GermanLook Forums > Technical Section > Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 16th 2011, 07:40
aircool aircool is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 44
944 fuel sender

Does anyone know if an early 944/924 fuel level sender will fit in a beetle tank?

I have 944 gauges and the fuel level works(ish) until it get low on fuel and the gauge flicks wildly about

Anyone tried this option or have a work around?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 16th 2011, 13:04
ricola's Avatar
ricola ricola is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Warwick, UK
Posts: 1,130
On a torsion beetle I've seen them fitted with spacers.
__________________
http://www.ricola.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 17th 2011, 04:54
aircool aircool is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 44
Thanks for that, I will give it a go.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 17th 2011, 17:21
aircool aircool is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 44
Ricola (or anyone for that matter) do have any ideas on dimensions of the 944 sender i.e. the length? how much spacing is required?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 17th 2011, 17:46
ricola's Avatar
ricola ricola is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Warwick, UK
Posts: 1,130
can't remember off the top of my head, but I believe a spacer about an inch or so is required. Search the wasserboxer bug on VZi, he used 944 gauges and fitted that sender
__________________
http://www.ricola.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 18th 2011, 15:08
owdlvr's Avatar
owdlvr owdlvr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada - West Coast
Posts: 724
If you're really desperate to know I could pull the sender out of my 944.

It's an '83.

-Dave
__________________
--
'71 Type 1 - Rally Project
'58 Type 1 - I bought an early...
'75 Type 1 - Family Heirloom
'93 Chevy 3500 pickup - Cummins Swap
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 19th 2011, 08:04
aircool aircool is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 44
Thank you very much for the kind offer Dave, I've just ordered one from a breakers yard at a good price so no need thanks.

I figured I would take a punt at making it work.....fingers crossed
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 20:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
© www.GermanLook.net 2002-2017. All Rights Reserved