GermanLook Forums  

Go Back   GermanLook Forums > Technical Section > Suspension

Old April 29th 2005, 19:40

Whats the hot setup?

Hello, this is my first post but I have been reading alot trying to figure out what the best all-around setup is for Porsche brakes on my '70 bug.

What I have in mind is 944 turbo 4-piston front calipers and I would like to go with 944 trailing arms and brakes. Now with this I have run into a few questions that I think you guys can answer, so here goes:
1.What seems to be the best master cylinder to go with, stock, 944, 911, Iduno?
2.If I went with the 944 trailing arms will I need to go with wider fenders if I were to use 17'' cup 2's?, and if so how wide?
3.Is it evan worth going with the 4-piston calipers or should I look into the 2pistons or the sliders? I am a circuit race driver and plan on running this thing hard, with the ocasional track day. How much braking is really necesary with a 2000lb. car, the american lotus Elise only has 2 piston front brakes and it is simialr in weight.
4.If you guys have any other insight into this (I hope you do) I would love to hear any thing (good or bad) that you have to say. "your 2-cents" please.

Thanks for your time,
Chad Schley
O.C. Cali.
Old April 30th 2005, 13:21

ditto. I've had similar questions myself. It would be nice to get a sticky with a set of best combos, from a standard 4 wheel disc conversion all the way up to 998 Turbo stuff. I'm guessing if everyone throws in there experience we can distill it all down to a good sticky that can get modified as experiences change.

Jason
1st Drag Run

Dyno Run
Oval Ragster-'57 Rag/'04 Boxster S
Old April 30th 2005, 15:04

1.What seems to be the best master cylinder to go with, stock, 944, 911, Iduno?

----depends on the application many options out there, from Porsche or even modern VW, I believe Old Speed in Paramount makes an adaptor for a Jetta MC